![]() |
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
If you missed this from TOB, it's worth a quick read.
http://www.gfy.com/showthread.php?t=774597&page=1 The hijack of joins and traffic has been goin on for a long while, just seems to be getting totally out of control. There is no simple solution that I know of. Was working on twistys promotion when I took a break and dropped into GFY to see shaps rant. Guess not all that much of a coincidence. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
splogtastic
|
yep, Shap posted the same thread on JBM
http://justblowme.com/showthread.php?t=80371 personally, I'd rather just read the one at JBM since that's where the program owners are... I thought Arlo's replies were very telling... I won't be promoting Quickbuck anytime soon... don't care if they do have pixel tracking... I know they have their own install base... there is more than one way to shave... |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) | |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
Quote:
In the thread sites are named along with affiliate account numbers.... Thought the post was well put. I'll ck out the JBM post by shap, maybe some different or more info... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
Quote:
and I agree it is a problem... at least for affiliates... program owners should actually benefit from it somewhat... less affiliates they have to pay... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
Quote:
you don't see the owners much on GFY... and if you do it's buried by hundreds of bullshit posts by surfers, lol... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) | |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
Quote:
Understatement? Ban the affiliate and keep all the $. Or the program owner has multiple affiliate accounts set up for his own use. Just ban the account and move on to the next. Maybe I should be more trusting?? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
Quote:
when Smoking Dawn outed SexBankRoll for buying Zango traffic on AI their rep LIED about it and said it was an affiliate account... he even said they banned that affiliate... of course it was easy to tell he was liar because the Zango traffic was being sent to sbrjmp.com which is a domain owned by SexBankRoll... it's where they host their exits... they even host their rep's board sig on that domain... you'd think if a program is going to buy spyware traffic and lie about it they'd at least have enough sense to hide it a bit better... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
Quote:
we don't shave or cheat...... since 19....... |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
splogtastic
|
holy shit... the Zango drama on JBM just got kicked up a notch...
well worth a read... hope they don't delete the threads... http://justblowme.com/showthread.php?t=80437 http://justblowme.com/showthread.php?t=80441 |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
Things get a little heated over there fo sure.
-- To reduce the number of infected surfers on your own site put this in your .htaccess: RewriteEngine On RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} zango|seekmo|hotbar|hbtools [NC] RewriteRule ^$ http://www.yourwarningpage.com/warning/index.html [R] or instead of your own warning-page add this: http://www.adwaresucks.com/zango/ The more sites that do this the better it is as hopefully the infected surfers will learn something. -- The code has been posted in a number of places. This came from the webmaster at thunder-ball.net. Not the answer all, but prolly helps some. |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
they sure did... seems to have died down now tho...
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) | |
|
member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 408
|
Quote:
Will76 posted at GFY a reference to a ccBill conversation where ccBill attorneys are incontact with Zango and their sites (anything with their logo) will be exempt from Zango popup. Didn't quote it. Waiting for something more specific from Jace or Ron of ccBill |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) | |
|
splogtastic
|
got something official from epoch...
Quote:
good to hear they got whitelisted... now if we can just get all the rest of the adult industry whitelisted Zango won't be a problem anymore... |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|